A Eve of Romance Novels | Mini Book Reviews #5

Happy Thursday, friends!

I love sharing my thoughts on books and everything within a novel’s pages. I love the idea of having a singular platform where I can talk about books and have people talk to me about books as well. This blog isn’t like Instagram or TikTok where the audience receives 5 second content and can scroll through endless photos and videos within the community. Blogs target niche audiences and are more likely to be information heavy in comparison to social media platforms. I prefer researching about a book on a reader’s blog than on social media simply because I find that book reviews are a lot more informative and go in-depth than what I could find on Instagram for example. 

However, book reviews are sometimes a pain to write. Most of my book reviews that I have posted on this blog are fairly lengthy and I try to really analyse as much of the content within the books as I can– after all, it is a review. It is sometimes time consuming, and I have to admit, there are times where I feel too lazy and unproductive enough to even take my laptop out and start analysing all the elements of a book. As a result, some of my book reviews on Goodreads are only one or two paragraphs in length, only touching on the aspects I liked or did not like, and never really expanding on some of my thoughts. I never really post those book reviews on this blog because I feel like it would be a waste of space. 

That being said, I do think it would be fun to compile all those shorter books reviews and merge them together into one blog post. That way, you can keep up to date with my recent reads without having to stalk my Goodreads!


Love in the Time of Serial Killers by Alicia Thompson

My Review:

I enjoyed this one.

The title and the synopsis definitely throws you off– at least I was thrown off a bit. I expected more of a cosy mystery but I ended up enjoying it a lot more than I expected. It was less cosy mystery and more quirky contemporary romance. I liked the characters and the chemistry between them. Everything else I did not care for; hence, the slightly lower the rating. 

3.5 stars 

Goodreads Synopsis:

Turns out that reading nothing but true crime isn’t exactly conducive to modern dating—and one woman is going to have to learn how to give love a chance when she’s used to suspecting the worst.

PhD candidate Phoebe Walsh has always been obsessed with true crime. She’s even analyzing the genre in her dissertation—if she can manage to finish writing it. It’s hard to find the time while she spends the summer in Florida, cleaning out her childhood home, dealing with her obnoxiously good-natured younger brother, and grappling with the complicated feelings of mourning a father she hadn’t had a relationship with for years.

It doesn’t help that she’s low-key convinced that her new neighbor, Sam Dennings, is a serial killer (he may dress business casual by day, but at night he’s clearly up to something). It’s not long before Phoebe realizes that Sam might be something much scarier—a genuinely nice guy who can pierce her armor to reach her vulnerable heart.

One Night by Lena Hendrix

My Review:

A long history of intense family rivalry, but they fall into bed and get pregnant?! delicioso!

“You’re doing great, Mama.”

This book was definitely more character-focused than plot-focused so expect to get through a few hurdles of character development, and moments where you want to grasp their shoulders and shake them silly. Duke was as close to a perfect male lead in this book as you could get and that’s saying something considering most men in books with these specific tropes usually make me want to pull my hair out and hurl the book against a wall.

Duke was close to perfect though.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Duke Sullivan is the oldest brother of my family’s hated rival. He also happens to be my good morning text and the man I have no right to have a secret crush on. Duke is strictly forbidden.


After months of keeping our friendship hidden, the stars align, sparks ignite, and we finally give into temptation. 
Knowing our relationship could never be more than stolen glances and longing looks, we agree to stay secret friends––until two pink lines change everything.


With our small town and both our families in an uproar, Duke does the unthinkable. 


He packs up my belongings and moves me into his house. Despite agreeing to weather the storm together and to try to figure out how to co-parent, living with Duke proves nearly impossible.


Every soft smirk, every brush of his calloused hand against my sensitive skin makes me want to burst into flames. It becomes clear, despite the feud, Duke is relentlessly going after what he wants and I think that might be . . . me.
I’m the quiet daughter with the wrong last name, but it’s obvious he wants so much more than just one night.

Leave a comment