Book Reviews

FairyLoot June 2022 YA Box Unboxing | Bookish Review

Hey, friends. It’s that time of the month again. Another month, another Fairyloot box review.  FairyLoot’s theme for June 2022 is CHOSEN ONES!! Here’s what they say about what this month’s box features: The weight of the world is heavy, but some are chosen to carry this burden to protect others. This box is dedicated… Continue reading FairyLoot June 2022 YA Box Unboxing | Bookish Review

I Added Some More Books To The TBR | New On The Shelf

Happy Monday, friends! I decided to mix things up this weeks. Instead of my usual Weekly Reading Update post, I thought I would replace it with another addition to one of my current blog series instead. I haven't been up to anything interesting last week, nor have I been reading much, so I hope you… Continue reading I Added Some More Books To The TBR | New On The Shelf

New YA Books Alert | New On The Shelf

Happy Thursday, friends! It's been a while since I did another episode of On the Shelf, so I am back today with another one! I always love hearing about the books that people have recently discovered and added to their tbr, so if you have any new additions to your TBR, please feel free to share… Continue reading New YA Books Alert | New On The Shelf

August 2022 Book Releases | Most Anticipated

Hey, everyone! We have now reached the month of August and you know what that means… A new month = new book releases!  In contrast to last month’s Most Anticipated Book Releases list, which has been one of shortest list of book releases that I have ever had on this blog, this month seems to be extra… Continue reading August 2022 Book Releases | Most Anticipated

The One About A Badass Female: Love Me to Death (Lucy Kincaid #1) by Allison Brennan | Book Review

Hi, friends! Today is another day to talk about a book. Today's book review features one of my favourite kinds of female characters– a fighter despite a complicated, harsh backstory. I've been in the mood more crime novels these days because they are usually quick, easy reads that transport readers straight to the middle of… Continue reading The One About A Badass Female: Love Me to Death (Lucy Kincaid #1) by Allison Brennan | Book Review

A Two-Week Late Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (17/7/22-25/7/22)

Happy Monday (Tuesday actually! But I was sure I scheduled this post to be up yesterday...Wordpress, what's going on??), friends!I've been kind of MIA (missing-in-action) these past week. I am currently going through a reading slump; thus, I have not been in the mood to read, or even write blog posts. My university graduation has… Continue reading A Two-Week Late Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (17/7/22-25/7/22)

The One About A Relationship Faker Than The Movies: How To Fake It In Hollywood by Ava Wilder | Book Review

Happy Tuesday, friends! When you are sick, there is nothing better than staying in bed, snuggled with a book and spending the rest of the day reading. A close second would be scrolling through book recommendation lists, and these days, I've been discovering new books on Instagram! and this book was one of them. I… Continue reading The One About A Relationship Faker Than The Movies: How To Fake It In Hollywood by Ava Wilder | Book Review

Books I Bought In April & May 2022 | No Shelf-Control

Hey everyone! You might've noticed that I have not been posting on this blog for a while. I have decided to take an impromptu break from blogging and social media for a while– apologies for not putting a notice in advanced (lol). Anyway, it's time for another book haul!!! I love these kinds of content–whether… Continue reading Books I Bought In April & May 2022 | No Shelf-Control

The One About The Wrong Baby In The Crib:Little Face by Sophie Hannah | Book Review

Hello! I'm here with another book review for you! I've been sick the past few days, and the only thing keeping me sane is reading (and naps!). I recently found this book/series from a recommendation list, and I quite hooked from the synopsis alone. Domestic thriller? Yes. Missing Child? Yes. Dectectives? Yes. Let's get onto… Continue reading The One About The Wrong Baby In The Crib:Little Face by Sophie Hannah | Book Review

A Unexciting Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (04/7/22-011/7/22)

Happy Monday, friends!I am so glad to share that I am feeling much, much better today– especially compared to my sickly state last week. Although the fever and the cold is gone, I still have a bit of a cough. Hopefully it'll disappear within the next few days. Thank you for again all your sweet… Continue reading A Unexciting Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (04/7/22-011/7/22)

A Sickly Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (27/6/22-04/6/22)

Happy Friday (Monday), friends!If you are a regular reader of this blog, you would've heard by now that I had fallen quite sick on Sunday. The next morning my mother encouraged me to take a COVID test, and lo and behold– I've got the virus. It was my first time catching the virus, and the… Continue reading A Sickly Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (27/6/22-04/6/22)

July 6th: Best Kisses | Top 5 Wednesday

Hey everyone! (Another blog post going up a day late lol) A little update: I tested positive for covid yesterday. Sad to say that my 3-year streak of dodging miss rona ended yesterday. I'll be taking this week a little slower than usual, but I do hope to get some reading done. Stay safe and… Continue reading July 6th: Best Kisses | Top 5 Wednesday

July 2022 Book Releases | Most Anticipated

Hi everyone! If you are familiar with how my weekly schedule usually goes, I expect that you might be a little confused as to why this Monday's post is not a Weekly Reading Update one. That is because, unfortunately I am sick– slight fever and sore throat (like literally my voice is not my own… Continue reading July 2022 Book Releases | Most Anticipated

The One About A Dark, Gothic Tale of Revenge: The Path of Thorns by A.G Slatter | Book Review

First of all, I want to say a quick "Thank You!" to Sarah from Titan Books for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book in advanced before the publication date. I am always so incredibly grateful whenever publishers or authors invite me to read a book that has yet to be published.… Continue reading The One About A Dark, Gothic Tale of Revenge: The Path of Thorns by A.G Slatter | Book Review

June 29th: Must Have on Vacation | Top 5 Wednesday

It’s that time of the week again! Top 5 Wednesdayyyyy~ Top 5 Wednesday was started in November 2013 and is a very much active group on Goodreads, so head over to Goodreads to join the group and keep up with all the topics for the month. I thought it was such a fun idea to have… Continue reading June 29th: Must Have on Vacation | Top 5 Wednesday

The One About A Girl In A Satellite: Cress by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

Hi everyone! I'm back with another book review! This is the third instalment to the Lunar Chronicles, and it is just as good as the first two! There are some spoilers coming up, so if you don't want to know the details then please stop reading here and come back when you've read it. Cress… Continue reading The One About A Girl In A Satellite: Cress by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

A Disrupted Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (20/6/22-27/6/22)

Happy Monday, friends!My week was pretty much spent doing everything BUT reading. I did not finish any book this week, so this reading update will be pretty much bare for the most part. However, I did start one book as I am writing this blog post, and have yet to finish it.  Instead, I have… Continue reading A Disrupted Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (20/6/22-27/6/22)

5 Star Predictions #2 | On the Shelf

The more books I add to my tbr, the more 5 stars predictions! As such, I thought it would be fitting to add another post to this new series! As the title implies, I’ll be listing a couple tbr books that I predict are going to be 5-star reads. This could be because it’s a… Continue reading 5 Star Predictions #2 | On the Shelf

June 22: Worth the Hype | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday was started in November 2013 and is a very much active group on Goodreads, so head over to Goodreads to join the group and keep up with all the topics for the month. I thought it was such a fun idea to have weekly books related prompts that I could answer and… Continue reading June 22: Worth the Hype | Top 5 Wednesday

FairyLoot May 2022 YA Box Unboxing | Bookish Review

Hey, friends. It’s that time of the month again. Another month, another Fairyloot box review! I have been so excited to receive this book ever since the spoiler was posted on their official account. FairyLoot’s theme for May 2022 is CLOAK & DAGGER! Here’s what they say about what this month’s box features: "We are… Continue reading FairyLoot May 2022 YA Box Unboxing | Bookish Review

A Bare Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (13/6/22-20/6/22)

Happy Monday, friends!My week was pretty much spent doing everything BUT reading. I did not finish any book this week, so this reading update will be pretty much bare for the most part. However, I did start one book as I am writing this blog post, and have yet to finish it. Instead, I have… Continue reading A Bare Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (13/6/22-20/6/22)

The One About A Magical, Mysterious, And Enticing Game: Caraval by Stephanie Garber | Book Review

Hi everyone! I am back with yet another book review. I have been trying to keep up all the books that I have read, but have not published a book review on this blog (and there are still quite a few, so expect a book review or two every week for next couple of weeks… Continue reading The One About A Magical, Mysterious, And Enticing Game: Caraval by Stephanie Garber | Book Review

June 15th: Heart-Racing Reads | Top 5 Wednesday 

It's that time of the week again! Top 5 Wednesdayyyyy~ Top 5 Wednesday was started in November 2013 and is a very much active group on Goodreads, so head over to Goodreads to join the group and keep up with all the topics for the month. I thought it was such a fun idea to… Continue reading June 15th: Heart-Racing Reads | Top 5 Wednesday 

The One About My New Favourite Crime Novel Series: Perfect Remains by Helen Sarah Fields | Book Review

I have not read a thriller in a looooong while, so I am very excited to share that I recently started a new thriller series! I first stumbled across this series by Helen Sarah Fields when NetGalley kindly granted my request to read the latest book in the series. It was only when I began… Continue reading The One About My New Favourite Crime Novel Series: Perfect Remains by Helen Sarah Fields | Book Review

A Distracted Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (6/6/22-13/6/22)

Happy Monday, friends!My week was even more busy than usual. Not only was I having to revise for two (2!!) exams this week, but I was also trying to find time to get some reading done. I was determined to catch up with my Goodreads Reading Challenge, and hopeful that I could be back on… Continue reading A Distracted Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (6/6/22-13/6/22)

The One About A Sapphic Vampire-Human Love Story: The Coldest Touch by Isabel Sterling

Hi friends! I am proud to announce that I have been on top of reviewing all of my recent reads, and have a couple of book reviews ready to be published soon. This one is about a vampire and human, sapphic love story. I received this book as part of a FairyLoot box. I do… Continue reading The One About A Sapphic Vampire-Human Love Story: The Coldest Touch by Isabel Sterling

How To Bookstagram | Reading Between The Lines

Happy Thursday, everyone! I am back with another addition to the Reading Between The Lines, and this week's topic is one that I am sure most of you will be familiar with. Reading Between The Lines where I can just talk (ramble!) about random, book-related topics. This will be an opportunity to open up discussions… Continue reading How To Bookstagram | Reading Between The Lines

June 8th: Favourite/Best Endings | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday was started in November 2013 and is a very much active group on Goodreads, so head over to Goodreads to join the group and keep up with all the topics for the month. I thought it was such a fun idea to have weekly books related prompts that I could answer and… Continue reading June 8th: Favourite/Best Endings | Top 5 Wednesday

The One About Making Tom Valeska Mine: 99 Percent Mine by Sally Throne | Book Review

Disclaimer: If you loved this book, good for you! This review is not a criticism of your reading preferences. It’s a reflection of how I felt after reading this book. 99 Percent Mine Sally Thorne Paperback, 368 pages Published July 4th 2019 by Piatkus (first published January 29th 2019) ISBN; 0349422893 (ISBN13: 9780349422893) Crush: a strong and often short-lived… Continue reading The One About Making Tom Valeska Mine: 99 Percent Mine by Sally Throne | Book Review

An Unrushed Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (30/5/22-6/6/22)

Happy Monday, friends! We are officially in the first week of July 2022! Reading wise, I would say that I had a productive week in terms of how many books I read, as well as blog posts that I have already written out and are waiting to be published. Outside of reading, it's been a… Continue reading An Unrushed Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (30/5/22-6/6/22)

June 2022 Book Releases | Most Anticipated

It’s nearly June already? Where did the time go?  But a new month means new book releases!  I think this is the longest list of book releases that I have ever complied on this blog. I’ve got lots of new books to look forward to this month, so please bear with this long, long list. … Continue reading June 2022 Book Releases | Most Anticipated

A Reading Week Where I Had Exams | Weekly Reading Update (22/5/22-30/5/22)

It's been a while since I posted a Weekly Reading Update. If you are a regular reader, you would already know that I have been busy revising for may final law exams and I have not had any free time to dedicate to reading books. Most of my reading these days consist of law cases,… Continue reading A Reading Week Where I Had Exams | Weekly Reading Update (22/5/22-30/5/22)

These Books Sound Cool | New On The Shelf

Hi everyone! I am here with yet another installment of On the Shelf. I am really glad to see you all enjoying these little series' that I have put up on the blog. On The Shelf is a new series on my blog where I would list the latest additions to my TBR (To-Be-Read pile)— on… Continue reading These Books Sound Cool | New On The Shelf

May 25th: Colors of Spring | Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday was started in November 2013 and is a very much active group on Goodreads, so head over to Goodreads to join the group and keep up with all the topics for the month. I thought it was such a fun idea to have weekly books related prompts that I could answer and… Continue reading May 25th: Colors of Spring | Top 5 Wednesday

5 Star Predictions | On The Shelf

I thought I'd start yet another series on this blog: A 5-Star Predictions Book List! As the title implies, I'll be listing a couple tbr books that I predict are going to be 5-star reads. This could be because it's a highly recommend book, maybe it's because of intriguing synopsis, or it could be because… Continue reading 5 Star Predictions | On The Shelf

Mothers in Books | Top 5 Wednesday

This post was last week’s prompt— I missed it, but I still wanted to do it (lol!) Top 5 Wednesday was started in November 2013 and is a very much active group on Goodreads, so head over to Goodreads to join the group and keep up with all the topics for the month. I thought… Continue reading Mothers in Books | Top 5 Wednesday

What I Read In April 2022 | Monthly Reading Wrap-Up

I've been so behind when it comes to posting on this blog. If you are a regular reader, you would know that I have been focused on revision and my final exams, so I have not been posting as frequently as I would've liked-- hence why this Month Reading Wrap-Up is a little late (we… Continue reading What I Read In April 2022 | Monthly Reading Wrap-Up

FairyLoot April 2022 YA Box Unboxing | Bookish Review

Hey, friends. It's that time of the month again. Another month, another Fairyloot box review. FairyLoot’s theme for April 2022 is BITTERSWEET! Here's what they say about what this month's box features: "Happiness and sadness, love and betrayal, all must come to a bittersweet end. You might have been victorious… but at what cost? You can… Continue reading FairyLoot April 2022 YA Box Unboxing | Bookish Review

Books New To Me | Top 5 Wednesday (May 4 2022)

I’ve been really busy with revision and university exams, so I have not been posting on this blog— or reading at all. As a result, blog posts will not be as frequent throughout the next couple of weeks. Top 5 Wednesday was started in November 2013 and is a very much active group on Goodreads,… Continue reading Books New To Me | Top 5 Wednesday (May 4 2022)

A Practically Non-Existent Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (25/4/22-9/5/22)

Happy Monday everyone! As the title insinuates, I barely read anything this week. Exam season is coming up, so I've been swamped in lots of revision sessions, lectures and seminars. Unfortunately, I don't see next week being generous enough to give me some time to read, so don't expect much of an update next week!… Continue reading A Practically Non-Existent Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (25/4/22-9/5/22)

The One About A Badass Female And Her Wolf: Scarlett by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

The title makes it seem like this is one of those paranormal/shape-shifting spicy romance books, but I promise you it is not— unfortunately...if that's what you're into lol. A little reminder that this book, Scarlet, is the 2nd book in the Lunar Chronicles Series. You can check out my review for the first book in… Continue reading The One About A Badass Female And Her Wolf: Scarlett by Marissa Meyer | Book Review

May 2022 Book Releases | Most Anticipated

It’s nearly May already? Where did the time go?  But a new month means new book releases!  I think this is the longest list of book releases that I have ever complied on this blog. I've got lots of new books to look forward to this month, so please bear with this long, long list.… Continue reading May 2022 Book Releases | Most Anticipated

Adult Book Love | Top 5 Wednesday (April 27 2022)

A day late due to revising all day and having lost track of my "usual" posting time, but it's here and thats all that matters! The prompt for this week was a bit of a challenge considering I don't really read a lot of Adult books— so my choices were very limited. That being said,… Continue reading Adult Book Love | Top 5 Wednesday (April 27 2022)

Books I Recently Added To My TBR | No Shelf Control

On The Shelf is a new series on my blog where I would list the latest additions to my TBR (To-Be-Read pile)— on NetGalley, Kindle, and my physical bookshelf. I thought this would be a fun idea because I add lots of new books to my TBR/wishlist, new books that I had not heard of yet,… Continue reading Books I Recently Added To My TBR | No Shelf Control

A Leisure Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (18/04/22-/4/22)

Looks like the reading streak is sort of continuing this week! What's funny though is I didn't end up reading the books I planned to read (see last week's Reading Update here). Just goes to show how much my mood affects my reading taste for the day. Not too hopeful that this streak will continue… Continue reading A Leisure Reading Week | Weekly Reading Update (18/04/22-/4/22)

August 2021 Fairyloot Box Unboxing | Bookish Review

This is a very late blog post. I know, but I still want to post it because it has been sitting in my drafts, collecting dust, and it would be an absolute travesty for me to hide the content's of this month's box from you all. I cannot describe to you how excited I was… Continue reading August 2021 Fairyloot Box Unboxing | Bookish Review