The TBR Has Grown, Unfortunately | New On The Shelf

Hello, friends! 

On The Shelf is a new series on my blog where I would list the latest additions to my TBR (To-Be-Read pile)— on NetGalley, Kindle, or my physical bookshelf. I thought this would be a fun idea because I add lots of new books to my TBR/wishlist, new books that I had not heard of yet, and I love seeing what books other readers have discovered recently. 

You can check out the first blog post of this regular series here

New In: Goodreads TBR (Advanced Readers Copies)

One of the Girls by Lucy Clarke

Goodreads Synopsis:

The latest twisty psychological thriller from internationally-bestselling author Lucy Clarke, One of the Girls is the delicious story of a bachelorette trip on a stunning Greek island… that ends in murder.

It was supposed to be the perfect weekend away. Six very different women travel to a sun-soaked Greek island for a bachelorette trip, to celebrate Lexi’s upcoming wedding. From the glorious ocean views to the quaint tavernas and whitewashed streets, the vacation seems too good to be true. But dangerous undercurrents run beneath the sunset swims and midnight cocktails – because each of the women is hiding a secret. Someone is determined to make sure that Lexi’s marriage never happens – and that one of them doesn’t leave the island alive.

Gripping, twisty, and full of sun-soaked suspense, this timely thriller examines the joys of female friendship…as well as the deadly consequences when a relationship goes wrong.

Why I Added This Book To My TBR:

I am always in the mood for a psychological thriller, no matter the mood or season. I don’t think I have ever read a thriller et during a holiday or vacation, and I look forward to seeing how the “perfect weekend getaway” contrasts the darker, suspenseful elements of a psychological thriller. I also love thrillers that surround the theme of female friendships.


The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow, Liz Lawson 

Goodreads Synopsis:

Welcome to Castle Cove — a town cursed with missing girls,
bad boyfriends, family secrets, and some very steep cliffs.

Last summer, Alice Ogilvie’s basketball-star boyfriend, Steve, dumped her. Then she disappeared for five days. Where she went and what happened to her is the biggest mystery in Castle Cove. Or at least it was. Because now, another one of Steve’s girlfriends has vanished: Brooke Donovan, Alice’s ex-best friend. And it doesn’t look like Brooke will be coming back …

Enter Iris Adams, Alice’s tutor. Iris has her own reasons for wanting to disappear, though unlike Alice, she doesn’t have the money or the means. That could be changed by the hefty reward Brooke’s family is offering. The police are convinced Steve is the culprit, but Alice isn’t so sure, and with Iris on her side, she just might be able to prove her theory.

Luckily, Alice has exactly what they need to crack the case — the complete works of Agatha Christie. If there’s anyone who can teach the girls how to solve a mystery, it’s the master herself. But the town of Castle Cove holds many secrets, and Alice and Iris have no idea how much danger they’re about to walk into …

Why I Added This Book To My TBR:

The title of this book caught my attention. I love when modern literature mixes with literature references from the past. As a reader of Agatha Christie’s works, I cannot wait to see how they incorporate Agatha Christie references in this book.

And like I mentioned earlier, I am always eager to read more mysteries and thrillers to my TBR.


The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle. by Matt Cain

Goodreads Synopsis:

Albert Entwistle is a private man with a quiet, simple life. He lives alone with his cat Gracie. And he’s a postman. At least he was a postman until, three months before his sixty-fifth birthday, he receives a letter from the Royal Mail thanking him for decades of service and stating he is being forced into retirement.

At once, Albert’s sole connection with his world unravels. Every day as a mail carrier, he would make his way through the streets of his small English town, delivering letters and parcels and returning greetings with a quick wave and a “how do?” Without the work that fills his days, what will be the point? He has no friends, family, or hobbies—just a past he never speaks of, and a lost love that fills him with regret.

And so, rather than continue his lonely existence, Albert forms a brave plan to start truly living. It’s finally time to be honest about who he is. To seek the happiness he’s always denied himself. And to find the courage to look for George, the man that, many years ago, he loved and lost—but has never forgotten. As he does, something extraordinary happens. Albert finds unlikely allies, new friends, and proves it’s never too late to live, to hope, and to love.

Why I Added This Book To My TBR:

To be honest, the book cover was too good to pass up so I immediately added the book to my Goodreads TBR without even looking at the synopsis– it looks so undoubtedly British. However, after reading the synopsis, it sounds like a book that would I would enjoy. This book sounds like a feel-good, cosy book to read with a warm cup of tea on the side.


New In: ARCs (Advanced Readers Copies)

The Last Girl to Die by Helen Fields

Goodreads Synopsis:

The island watched and wept…

In search of a new life, sixteen-year-old Adriana Clark’s family moves to the ancient, ocean-battered Isle of Mull, far off the coast of Scotland. Then she goes missing. Faced with hostile locals and indifferent police, her desperate parents turn to private investigator Sadie Levesque.

Sadie is the best at what she does. But when she finds Adriana’s body in a cliffside cave, a seaweed crown carefully arranged on her head, she knows she’s dealing with something she’s never encountered before.

The deeper she digs into the island’s secrets, the closer danger creeps – and the more urgent her quest to find the killer grows. Because what if Adriana is not the last girl to die?

Why I Added This Book To My TBR:

I am pretty sure the Paperchase website banner with ‘100 Days Till Christmas’ on their website had somehow gotten me excited for Christmas that I just had to request the first book I saw on the NetGalley website. That being said, the book’s synopsis sounds like something that I would enjoy anyway so I have high hopes for this book. Who doesn’t want a swoon-worthy romance set in front of the Christmas holiday backdrop.

Thank you Avon Books for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for a book review!


Holiday Romance by Catherine Walsh

Goodreads Synopsis:

She’s meant to be catching flights, not catching feelings…

Molly and Andrew are just trying to get home to Ireland for the holidays, when a freak snowstorm grounds their flight.

Nothing romantic has ever happened between them: they’re friends and that’s all. But once a year, for the last ten years, Molly has spent seven hours and fifteen minutes sitting next to Andrew on the last flight before Christmas from Chicago to Dublin, drinking terrible airplane wine and catching up on each other’s lives. In spite of all the ways the two friends are different, it’s the holiday tradition neither of them has ever wanted to give up.

Molly isn’t that bothered by Christmas, but—in yet another way they’re total opposites—Andrew is a full-on fanatic for the festive season and she knows how much getting back to Ireland means to him. So, instead of doing the sane thing and just celebrating the holidays together in America, she does the stupid thing. The irrational thing. She vows to get him home. And in time for his mam’s famous Christmas dinner.

The clock is ticking. But Molly always has a plan. And—as long as the highly-specific combination of taxis, planes, boats, and trains all run on time—it can’t possibly go wrong. What she doesn’t know is that, as the snow falls over the city and over the heads of two friends who are sure they’re not meant to be together, the universe might just have a plan of its own…

A totally gorgeous and escapist friends-to-lovers festive romance with a swoon-worthy hero. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi Macfarlane, and Christina Lauren.

Why I Added This Book To My TBR:
I’m pretty sure the Paperchase website banner with ‘100 Days Till Christmas’ on their website had somehow gotten me excited for Christmas that I just had to request the first book I saw on the NetGalley website. That being said, the book’s synopsis sounds like something that I would enjoy anyway so I have high hopes for this book. Who doesn’t want a swoon-worthy romance set in front of the Christmas holiday backdrop.

Thank you Avon Books for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for a book review!

How to Kill Men and Get Away With It by Katy Brent

Goodreads Synopsis:

Meet Kitty Collins. 
FRIEND. LOVER. KILLER.

Have you ever walked home at night, keys in hand, ready to throw a punch in self-defence? That’s how it all started. The killing spree, I mean.

I sort of tripped into this role… Literally. The first one was following me. That guy from the nightclub who wouldn’t leave me alone. I pushed him, he stumbled, and fell onto his own broken wine bottle. Oops. It was such a waste of a good house white.

But now I can’t seem to stop and nor do I want to… I’ve got a taste for revenge and quite frankly, I’m killing it.

A deliciously dark, hilariously twisted story about friendship, love, and murder. Fans of My Sister the Serial KillerHow to Kill Your Family and Killing Eve will love this wickedly clever novel!

Why I Added This Book To My TBR:
I’m pretty sure the Paperchase website banner with ‘100 Days Till Christmas’ on their website had somehow gotten me excited for Christmas that I just had to request the first book I saw on the NetGalley website. That being said, the book’s synopsis sounds like something that I would enjoy anyway so I have high hopes for this book. Who doesn’t want a swoon-worthy romance set in front of the Christmas holiday backdrop.

Thank you Avon Books for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for a book review!

What books have caught your attention recently? Any recommendations for me?

Let me know in the comments below!

Follow Me On Social Media and Let’s Talk Books! :

Read More! :

2 thoughts on “The TBR Has Grown, Unfortunately | New On The Shelf”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s